Limoncello Part 2

DSC05491

Lemon peel and vodka after one month sitting in the dark. End of phase one of making limoncello.

My limoncello jars have been sitting patiently in the dark beside the radiogram. They have been noticed. Today I fed them with sugar water. Limoncello has a sweet tooth. I have two large jars in the process. I made up 2:2.5 sugar to water ratio and heated up the sugar and water on the stove to a slow boil for 5-7 minutes. Let the pot cool right down. I then added the sugar water to the limoncello. Do not stir. Lids on again and banished to the dark corner of the room for another month. Poor limoncello. 😦

DSC05492

Sugar syrup BEFORE heating.

DSC05493

Sugar syrup AFTER heating.

Just so I’m clear, I used two jars so I doubled the mix and in total used four cups of sugar and five cups of water. Use filtered water.
Patience comes to those who wait. Watching the brew does not make it work it’s magic faster. Go and do something else. Distraction is the best medicine.

For the actual recipe in my earlier posting see Limoncello.

4 thoughts on “Limoncello Part 2

  1. Pingback: Limoncello Tasting | throve

  2. Pingback: Limoncello Part 3 | throve

Share your thoughts

