Chicken, Brandy and Thyme Pate

pate

Chicken, Brandy and Thyme Pate ready for the fridge ©throve 2014

I was looking for pate because I read that chicken liver was very good for you. I looked at the small print on the back of the container and it said chicken and pork livers. I think it also said about 22% chicken/pork. That made me wonder what the rest of it was. Also I didn’t like the sound of pork liver. The chicken liver only pate was slightly better at 33% liver content but it was twice the price. I thought I could do better than that. I went to the meat section and asked if they had chicken livers. They did. Chicken livers were slightly more expensive than the cheaper pate but at least I knew what it contained. Factoring in quantity, the ready made was much more expensive than the raw product.  I bought raw chicken livers. My homemade pate will be maybe at least 85% chicken liver. I like the percentages better with mine.

So what’s in chicken liver that makes me dash to the supermarket?
“Chicken livers are high in protein and a rich store of folate… Livers are also loaded with iron to give you energy and a treasure trove of certain B vitamins, most notably B12… Chicken livers are also one of the top sources of vitamin A.”*

You know when your body is telling you to buy something, you feel like the water diviner, you loiter over a certain food and you get a compulsion to pick it up. No I’m not talking about impulse buying of red wine or potato chips I mean food that is good for you. Sure red wine in moderation is supposedly good for you but you know what I mean. You may hover over avocados when your body is in need of potassium or other nutrients, antioxidants for the eyes, fibre to name just a few of the benefits of this super food.

Chicken, Brandy and Thyme Pate

Ingredients:
3-4t butter
1 onion finely chopped
2-4 cloves garlic
1 tub of chicken livers, 350g
2T brandy
1t dry thyme, or 3 sprigs of fresh thyme
2-3 T sour cream
Salt and pepper

Method:
Melt the butter in a fry pan. On a low heat add the onions and cook until translucent. (About 20 minutes.)  At about 15 minutes in add the garlic.
Cut the chicken livers and add them to the pan, cook for 3-5 minutes on a medium heat.
Stir well so the liver is evenly cooked.
Stir in brandy, sour cream and thyme with the stems.
Cook for a minute.
Cool.
Purée mixture well in a blender.
Press into small dishes, cover and chill for 3 hours.
Serve with crackers or toast.
Keep refrigerated.

How long does pate last?
Keeps refrigerated for up to 3 days. It will probably be fine for longer but its best to er on the side of caution.  If you have any left over, freeze it. Pate freezes well, stores frozen up to 2 months.

Notes:
I sneaked the good brandy into this recipe. Cooking brandy was out of stock. Only the good brandy was left. What is a girl to do? 🙂
I used 2 cloves of garlic and would double that for next time.
I was pleased with the texture of the pate, it was smooth. There was no smell. Store bought pate has a smell to it, homemade is void of smell. The taste on the other hand was delicate yet flavourful.
The recipe is forgiving of measurements, you don’t have to be accurate. The steps are the more important point.
The recipe makes approximately 4 average muffin tins in quantity.
This recipe was a big hit.

*the guardian.com

6 thoughts on “Chicken, Brandy and Thyme Pate

    • The brandy wasn’t strong really at all in taste but for next time I will up the volume. 2T is not enough. I suppose I could add an extra 1T after in the blender. 🙂

Share your thoughts

