Night vision improving while driving without caffeine

Cranberry & Pomegranate Tea

Cranberry & Pomegranate Tea

I was wondering yesterday if going without caffeine has had any affect on me. I must be Day12 caffeine free by now. I couldn’t really pin point anything until I drove to the supermarket after dark. My night vision seemed to be improved. I don’t really enjoy driving at night. I love driving during the day. But at night it is a different story. My depth of vision is challenged. I need more concentration driving at night. I avoid it when I can. But last night I felt like I could see through the dark like a nocturnal being. I don’t wear glasses to drive.
Is it possible for my vision to be affected by caffeine?
I recently got my first ever pair of reading glasses. I was quite excited about that. I was looking forward to choosing the frames. This is unrelated of course by I can’t help sharing. I know many people dread wearing glasses but I have been waiting ages for the chance. Excited even. I bought a pair last year against blue light emitting from the computer screens. Nice frames too.
I searched “caffeine and eye sight” online and found that apparently I’m not the only one noticing a difference. I may decide not to slide back into drinking coffee every morning after all. Still love the smell of it. No need to give it up completely.
I am enjoying the range of herbal teas that are on offer. Today’s photo is of Cranberry & Pomegranate Tea served in a wonderful purple cup. Love the colours.

6 thoughts on “Night vision improving while driving without caffeine

  1. This is quite interesting to me. I have horrible night vision problems, with no depth perception. I don’t drink much caffeine but I will look into my diet and see if there is something else that can improve my night vision. On a different subject, in a way, I had damaged my eyes by wearing the original hard contact lenses. I developed very dry eyes and needed a prescription. The doctor said my eyes were so dry I had what could be described as moss growing on them. I took the prescription and used it for a couple of years. Then I had a health issue and drastically changed my diet becoming vegetarian and giving up all processed foods. Wouldn’t you know my eye healed and I’ve never needed drops again. There are so many things affected by our diet I think Hippocrates was right, “Let thy food by thy medicine”.

    • Hippocrates spoke wise words that are ever so relevant today. I’m trying to change bad habits to good ones and make them last. Never been one for fad diets just slowly trying to adjust what I eat and do for the better. Processed foods I try and avoid but I love cheeses and salami and sausages so I’m a work in progress! πŸ™‚

      • Slow easy steps I believe are the only way to make real change. Do you live near any farms? I can get raw home made cheese from a local farmer who raised their cattle without hormones or any antibiotics. They also are naturally raised on grass. It’s a good alternative to store bought cheese for those infrequent indulgences.

      • I just bought fresh feta cheese today from a Lebanese shop. Most farming in my neck of the woods is grass feed. It’s what I grew up on and feel familiar with plus I didn’t know any different. πŸ™‚

      • You are so lucky! There are fewer and fewer areas where local grass-fed animals are raised to provide residents with good food. Enjoy your cheese. πŸ˜‰

Share your thoughts

