Homemade Baked Corn Chips

cornchips9
I like corn chips and I love guacamole.
Here is a recipe for corn chips with just four ingredients.
So simple. So healthy and so delicious. How long will they last?
I am so in love with this “modern” take on corn chips recipe and I haven’t finished baking them. I have to wait until tomorrow morning. I can’t wait…
I made them thinner than the recipe that I was basing mine off so I am not going to leave them in the oven overnight. I don’t want to burn the house down nor do I want to burn the chips. I will turn off the oven and sleep and then switch it on again tomorrow and keep an eye on it.
TVNZ has a TV food program called “The Food Truck” in which Chef Michael Van de Elzen tries to make healthy restaurant quality fast food from a van for the price of lunch special. He’s a chef so he knows his craft but the charm of the program is his interaction with the people, from experts in the field of pie making to the one man band chef of Mexican Specialties, from wharf workers to zoo staff who sample the fare. It’s a window into New Zealanders and our eating habits. Each week a theme is chosen. This week’s one happened to be Mexican. In New Zealand we have very few authentic Mexican restaurants, most are a Tex-Mex variety with emphasis on drinking margaritas or Coronas while snacking on nachos. Not a bad thing but not really the real Mexico.
I used lemon in the recipe as the price of limes here is ridiculously expensive. I need to add a lime tree to my wish list of fruit trees to add to the garden of my dreams.

Corn Chips
5 fresh corn cobs
juice of 1 lemon or lime
1/2 c flax seeds
pinch of salt

Preheat oven to 100 C on fan bake.
Remove the ears of corn from the cob with a knife.
Place all ingredients in a food processor.
Spread mixture 5mm thick onto a baking paper lined tray and place in the oven.
Remove after 2-3 hours. Glance at the tray after the second hour and remove when golden brown. Thickness of mixture, oven types will be different so watch your time.
Remove from the oven to cool.
Break into pieces.
Cool and store in an airtight container. Who are we kidding? They won’t last till tomorrow.
Serve with salsa or guacamole.

Five corn cobs produces one tray of corn chips. I am surprised at how small the batch turned out. I know the tray was there and I could visualise the amount before I started but until you break up the pieces and put them into a container you don’t truly realise how few pieces go into the container. Sure we sampled a piece each. And very pleased with the results I might say.
I preferred the texture and taste of the homemade chip to the shop bought variety.
I liked the natural look of broken or ripped pieces.
A fun exercise. But I think they will all be gone before I even start thinking about making salsa or guacamole. I need to double the batch if I make them again.
It is already the morning after and I can say that there are still chips left in the container. It wasn’t because I didn’t like them. I didn’t feel the need to keep eating.
How about that. A new experience.
With shop bought chips with all the salt and additives on them you “need” to have one more, but with these I spent time enjoying the texture and the sound of the crunch and the taste was amazing.  Plus I like the shape of the broken pieces. Natural in every way. I was also thinking about how five corn cobs went into making this, and thinking wow that is a lot of corn for such a small tray. And I still haven’t gotten the salsa or the guacamole made.

cornchips2
Place all ingredients in a food processor.
cornchips3
cornchips4
Spread mixture 5mm thick onto a baking paper lined tray and bake in the oven.
cornchips5
Just in the oven. How much will it compact down? Will it stick to the tray? Should I have used baking paper? Patience my dear is a virtue. Baking paper would have been better. And yes it did stick a little but it scraped off okay. That part was only partially cooked so I squashed it down again and baked it too. Waste not want not.
cornchips6
cornchips8 cornchips9
The airtight container is for show. They won’t last till evening.

Share your thoughts

