Kimchee Rice


Over on humblefeast kimchee rice was on the menu and she inspired me to make my own. In the fridge and pantry I had all I needed to make my version. I had Ggakdugi Kimchee or Daikon Kimchee or Chinese Radish Kimchee as pictured below. One of my favourite kimchee.

Kimchee is a Korean pickle and covers all vegetables from cabbage to daikon to bean sprouts. Kimchee can be spelt kimchi or gimchi depending on where you grew up or stumbled on this food. Some people make it really hot and others not so. If you have kimchee fresh you can eat it as a side dish with dinner but when it gets a little older,Β  it is still good, but it is better for cooking.

I had onions. And leftover rice from the night before.

And I had an egg. Which I fried and added to the top for colour. I added the juice that the pickle came with and used that for the colour and flavour to fry the kimchee.

And a little tip that helps when using leftover rice: Cut the rice with the spatula, don’t stir. You get rid of the clumping easier and the shape of the rice holds better.
I sprinkled black pepper over the fried egg while it was in the pan for something different to do and I didn’t like the effect but by then it was too late. It would have looked better plain but you live and learn by doing.
For a healthier option I could have poached the egg but I wasn’t really going for that. I had kimchee and Nasi Goreng on the brain and so it had to be fried. No question.

Kimchee Rice
Kimchee, of your liking
Leftover Rice
1 Onion, chopped and sliced
2 cloves Garlic, sliced
1 egg, free range, fried
black pepper
Chilli sauce, extra (optional)

Saute the onions and garlic until cooked. When cooked add the cold leftover rice and the kimchee. You may need to cut the kimchee to smaller pieces. Cut the rice to break the clumps up and mix well until the rice is heated through.
In a separate pan fry the egg.
Place the rice into a bowl and add the fried egg to the top.
Enjoy!

8 thoughts on “Kimchee Rice

  1. I’m sorry it’s taken me so long to comment on this! I’ve spent the last week catching up on all my June blog-reading, which progressed from newest to oldest, so this was literally the very last post on my to-read list. How sad that it’s taken me a month to finally read it!

    Your kimchi rice looks delicious, though, and I’m flattered that one of my meals inspired it. Also, I know you weren’t happy with how the photo of the egg with the salt and pepper on it turned out, but I think it is lovely! And I still have to try that radish kimchi sometime soon, if I can find it anywhere around here….

    Hope you’ll be back blogging with us soon. I’m back on track with my reading now, so I’ll finally be keeping up again. πŸ™‚

    • I have overdosed on kimchi and so I am off it now (again). I think the way it happens is that the container is too big and we need to eat through it and by the time we get to the end we just want it over with. We did buy two sorts of kimchi so that may be the real issue. The eyes are bigger than the belly, with a touch of waste not want not. πŸ™‚
      Going through the freezer today and came up with home made gyoza (dumplings for pan frying). They made a nice light brunch snack. All out of ice cream!
      In celebratory thoughts for the French I thought champagne would be appropriate for the weekend. Cheers. πŸ™‚

      • Oooh, gyoza! That sounds fabulous. I know what you mean about overdosing on kimchi–we go through spells where we want it all the time, and then we get a little burnt out, and then we crave it again a little while later. πŸ™‚

    • Let me know how it turns out. Enjoy πŸ™‚
      Guinness and beef stew next on the menu here. Ireland play New Zealand in rugby later today. I am being patriotic by being neutral, NZ beef with Guinness. I would rather eat stew than watch the rugby though. Cheers!

  2. the hilarious thing is that i had kimchee fried rice last night! we grew up eating korean food and my brother’s girlfriend is korean and she made some at my house! love it!

    • Fancy that! A kimchee moment. I didn’t think kimchee fried rice was that popular but apparently that is not the case. I am going to make Guinness and beef stew next. Nothing like mixing it up. Have a nice weekend!

Share your thoughts

