Mini Gingerbread Men

The world’s largest gingerbread man maybe 20 feet long, but mine happens to be about as long as my thumb. I say long rather than tall because who has ever seen one standing? I don’t even bother icing mine, no nose, no eyes, no mouth, no buttons. Plain gingery gingerbread men. Perfect. In all honesty I can’t wait to ice them and when I do they end up with less than perfect eyes and then the rest goes downhill so I don’t bother. Taste is all important. It’s whats on the inside that counts.These little men are amazing.
I must admit that I left half of my mixture in the fridge overnight and it was hard the next day. With a little water and rolling pin action I was able to beat the dough into submission. Never mess with a person who holds either a knife or a rolling pin.
Now I tend to do one tray at a time. Cut out enough for one tray and put them straight into the oven and while I am cutting out the rest of the gingerbread men the first lot is ready. It is completely up to you how you do it. And watch out for the colour of the arms and legs, the hotter the oven the quicker they will brown. The original recipe says 10 minutes but my men are tiny so if the biscuits/cookies were bigger then 10 minutes would be about right. Start watching them from about 7 minutes.
Another tip is to use a sharp knife to slide under the dough to lift out the men.

Gingerbread Men
125g butter, at room temperature
1/2 cup, raw sugar
1/2 cup golden syrup
1 egg yolk
2 1/2 cups wholemeal flour
1 T ground ginger
1 t mixed spice
1 t baking soda

Preheat oven to 180°C.Prepare baking paper for two trays.

Beat the butter and sugar in a bowl. Add the golden syrup and egg yolk and beat until combined. Stir in the flour, ginger, mixed spice and bicarbonate of soda. Turn onto a lightly floured surface and knead until smooth. Press dough into a disc. Cover with plastic wrap and place in the fridge for 30 minutes to rest.

Place the dough between 2 sheets of baking paper and roll out until about 4mm thick. Use a 5cm gingerbread man cutter to cut out shapes. Place on trays about 1cm apart. Repeat with any excess dough.

Bake in oven for 7-8 minutes or until brown. Remove from oven. Transfer to a rack to cool unless you prefer to eat them as soon as they come out of the oven. Enjoy!

Recipe adapted from taste.com.au

11 thoughts on “Mini Gingerbread Men

  1. Yum! I haven’t eaten a gingerbread man for years! I may just have to make a batch now… I’m with you on the “non-icing” – I think mine would end up looking too sinister (not too sinister to eat, though!)

    • I painted faces on three last time and how did you know they were sinister? I gave up on the rest. I need lots of practice. I also need to make bigger gingerbread men if I ever hope to make a smiley one rather than a creepy one. And as you say eat the creepy ones head first. Pleased to have pushed gingerbread men to the front of your mind. I loved animal biscuits as a kid too! Happy baking! 🙂

    • I do have some tiny stars and other things in the cupboard that I had forgotten about. Thanks for the reminder. Need to make another batch up to try out these new versions! All in the name of science and experimentation. It’s a hard life taste testing! 🙂

    • Exactly. But I would like to master the art one day of neatly writing something on a cake in the medium of icing. Perhaps I was just destined to have and eat cake?

      • Well all the gingerbread men are gone. The joke is on me as I need to do some running now. Perhaps having cake and eating it does have some drawbacks. Time to take a walk.

    • Can’t seem to leave a comment on your other post for some reason but I just wanted to say thanks for sharing Djarimirri – Gurrumul Yunupingu. Just lovely. And thanks for taking the time to acknowledge the lady who had low blood sugar and help her when she needed it. To be acknowledged is such a small thing to ask, yet some find it so hard to give. Dream well. 🙂

Share your thoughts

