Wheat Belly: Lose the Wheat, Lose the Weight, and Find Your Path Back to Health

Photo Source: huntgatherlove.com

Wheat Belly: Lose the Wheat, Lose the Weight, and Find Your Path Back to Health, the book, what’s it all about?

The gist of Wheat Belly is this: it’s about cutting out wheat from your diet to prevent cravings because wheat “ain’t what it used to be”, and a benefit of that is weight loss among some people.  Modern wheat is not technically genetically modified (GM) it’s just been drastically modified through cross-breeding and hybridisation to make it drought resistant and higher yielding. It is written by doctor who practices preventative cardiology.

A question answered with the author, Dr. William Davis, Sep 20 2011. For the full interview click the link here.

“Q: How does wheat make us fat, exactly?

A: It contains amylopectin A, which is more efficiently converted to blood sugar than just about any other carbohydrate, including table sugar. In fact, two slices of whole wheat bread increase blood sugar to a higher level than a candy bar does. And then, after about two hours, your blood sugar plunges and you get shaky, your brain feels foggy, you’re hungry. So let’s say you have an English muffin for breakfast. Two hours later you’re starving, so you have a handful of crackers, and then some potato chips, and your blood sugar rises again. That cycle of highs and lows just keeps going throughout the day, so you’re constantly feeling hungry and constantly eating. Dieticians have responded to this by advising that we graze throughout the day, which is just nonsense. If you eliminate wheat from your diet, you’re no longer hungry between meals because you’ve stopped that cycle. You’ve cut out the appetite stimulant, and consequently you lose weight very quickly. I’ve seen this with thousands of patients.”

For those with just a few minutes, here is the condensed version:

For those with a little more time up their sleeves, then here is
PART 1
The audio is not the best.

PART 2
It ends abruptly.

I saw what was on the YouTube and on the net. I then read the book.

I have just recently changed over from plain white flour to wholemeal flour.  White sugar to raw sugar. And where possible I eat wholegrain or wholemeal breads, as natural as I can get it. I’m feeling good about the change.  I am eating more vegetables and fruit than ever.  I am juicing for breakfast every day.  (Update: wobbly results at the moment, I am rebelling and having vegetable tantrums, currently in the time out room) I am making healthier choices most of the time. Life is pretty good. But I’m having doubts now that I am not doing enough.

And I’m curious now…

Curious enough to cut out wheat. I am also curious enough to go in search of alternative wheat options. I have a sneaking suspicion that my body will love it and so will I.

Eyes wide open…

Interesting post about the food groups from Daily Yonder Keep it Rural.

More from Dr. William Davis at wheatbelly

What do you think about it all? Just another fad? Just a another “discovery” without substance or is there something in this that is worth sitting up, taking further notice and doing something about?

Wheat is in so much food that we eat. What would I give up?  What are the alternatives?
For pasta I would look into buckwheat and make my own noodles.

What about bread alternatives? There is a lot to think about and I know what they mean when they mention the cravings every two hours or so. The late night cravings, the 11 am cravings, the list goes on. I would like to have a better diet and I would like to not have to rely on one crop so heavily.

Baking. How would I manage without my sweet things? I cannot give up the sugar and the wheat at the same time.  A recipe for disaster and bounce back big time. I am already going wobbly with my juicing daily. Out of kilter.

It has made me think and that is a good thing.  It seems to make a lot of sense. I am willing to look at the consequences in my diet change, and see what I can change. I don’t want to dump food that I have already, I can just decide not to bring new wheat products into the house. Ween my way off it.  I don’t buy processed cereals for breakfast so that is no hardship. I sometimes have toast for breakfast. So no jam, butter or toast. Gulp. Manageable. I like toast with soup. I can have soup without it. Not the same but manageable. I don’t want to be substituting one carbohydrate for another one and keep the high and low sugar imbalance that I have noticed. I want a substitute that comes without the baggage.

Certainly food for thought.

4 thoughts on “Wheat Belly: Lose the Wheat, Lose the Weight, and Find Your Path Back to Health

    • Thank you. You’re welcome.
      I eat a lot of wheat. I think this will be a challenge if I were to reduce wheat 100%. I am not going to do it but I will be mindful of how I feel after eating something. I want to enjoy food and learn to listen to my body better.

  1. We use organic and unbleached wheat flour, but I always feel much better when I go wheatless. ♥
    Buckwheat is a wonderful alternative, and isn’t a wheat at all. I’m still stuck for a rising bread recipe, though. I’ve been a little lazy with my wheat-free experimenting, mostly because organic alternatives to wheat aren’t super-available where I am. =0/
    My quest continues, and this post inspires me. *happy dancing*
    Veggiewitch ♥

    • I really looked at several menus today while out and was amazed at the amount of wheat on the menus. I think if I had celiac disease I would be in despair. “Discovered” a warm salad with tomato spicy chicken to save the day. Going wheat free would be a challenge in mainstream restaurants. I am not really a green salad person. I blew it on gingerbread men this afternoon, not wheat free today. I enjoyed the exercise of going wheat free dining out though. I had a mound of dough to roll out and used that for afternoon tea. Wholemeal flour.
      Buckwheat is a favourite of mine. love the noodles. I like the fields of it. Such an instant crop and good for cold climates. Why it is called a wheat, I have no idea.
      So without the gluten, there is no rising bread. A tricky one to deal with. Freshly baked bread is quite something. More thought required on that one. 🙂

Share your thoughts

