Gingerbread screaming cake

I have cravings for ginger at the moment. I decided to make gingerbread. We don’t call it a cake traditionally so I added the word in case someone thought I might mean gingerbread men. I want to make them too and decorate them with buttons, eyes and mouths. Another day. So to ginger, I wanted to add more ginger to the original recipe and I thought raw ginger. I grated a tablespoonful. Not enough this time round. I added 2 teaspoonfuls of ground ginger.  I want to have a cake that screams ginger. This version didn’t scream ginger, it didn’t sing ginger, it just said ginger.  In future I would add probably THREE tablespoonfuls or more of the raw ginger. I may even make my own crystalised ginger and add that too. I told you I wasn’t kidding about wanting a ginger screaming cake.
Golden syrup is an ingredient in the recipe and its made from processed sugar cane or beet. It looks like thick rich honey and doesn’t have the bitter taste of molasses or dark  treacle.
I followed the recipe and baked mine for 45 minutes and did the skewer test and it was gooey at the end so I kept it in for another 10 minutes. Did the skewer test again, clear,  so I took it out. Left it for 10 minutes then cut into it. It was just a little gooey in the very centre. We ate it anyway! I put it back in the turned off oven to cook further. Tasted great but you know what was missing. More ginger!
What did I learn today?
Skewer test in several spots on the cake, and aim at the centre.
The more ginger the better.

Gingerbread
125g butter
1/2 c raw sugar
1c golden syrup (light treacle)
1 egg, free range
2 1/2 c wholemeal flour
1/4 t salt
1 1/2 t baking soda
2-3 t ground ginger
1 t cinnamon
1 -3 T ginger, raw grated
1 c water

Preheat the oven to 180C (350F) fan bake mode.
Prepare a 20 cm square or round baking tin. Line the bottom with baking paper and grease the rest of the tin.
Cream butter and sugar in a bowl.
Warm syrup slightly until runny.
Beat into creamed mixture.
Add egg and beat well.
Place the dry ingredients in a separate bowl.
Stir into the creamed mixture, add alternatively with the water.
Pour mixture into the greased tin.
Bake for 45- 60 minutes.
Test the cake to see if it is ready by poking a bamboo skewer into the cake. If it comes back cleanly it is done.
Remove from the oven when ready.
Let sit for 10 minutes before removing from the tin.
Enjoy!

Thanks to Edmond’s Cookery Book 34th Edition p50 for the base for this recipe.

16 thoughts on “Gingerbread screaming cake

  1. I always find gingerbread takes heaps longer to cook than ANY recipe says lol.. May give this one another whirl and see how I go! I tend to finely slice crystallised ginger in mine .. Kapow!

      • I used to hate ginger when I was a kid – now I can’t kapow it enough, funny how our taste buds change if we allow them to huh!

      • My grandmother used to eat crystallized ginger all the time. I wasn’t too keen on it then, but I love the raw version, and any version in baking now. Thinking aloud here, what about ginger biscotti? Yum. Sounds like a good combo, dipped in chocolate!

      • Oh yes, I use ginger in my biscotti all the time!! Maybe you could be brave and do what I never have yet .. make ginger the key flavour!? Ginger, dipped in dark choc. YUM tell me when they’re ready? I’ll be right there heheh Oh and my grandparents did too, that was a standard Xmas pressy for them but I hated it .. however as you say, ginger root or ginger pdr – bring it on!

      • I had biscotti with apricot in and it was partially dipped in chocolate too. Very nice. There was never enough. I thought I would make my own with dates, ginger and cashews or almonds. I saw your biscotti recipe and might bookmark that to make at a later date, sooner rather than later. It seems like biscotti weather coming on.

      • For all it seems a fiddle, my biscotti is (here we go lol) the best I have ever had, tasted or made .. it’s just jam packed full of flavour and altho expensive (eggs here are $8 for 12) it’s SO worth it because it’s tasty and you get heaps 😉

      • I have dates, pistachio, cashews, sultanas, chocolate chips. I have the ingredients ready. I unfortunately have a box of bought biscotti ready to eat. They must be consumed first. Illogical, I know but laziness takes over when sweetness is involved.

      • hahha understood .. dunno about dates, maybe a tad stodgy? Be curious to hear how they go! As to the bought biscotti, use them as cheese cake crumb.. (I am the voice of temptation) 😉

      • I was horrified at your suggestion of using the bought biscotti as a cheesecake base. 🙂 Not only were the biscotti ridiculously expensive but they were dipped in chocolate. (For a cheesecake base I have used crushed malt biscuits in the past but I cannot remember the last time I made a cheesecake.)
        They are for a special occasion. Like today!
        I do believe that Biscotti Day is coming up soon, and that like the Queen’s Birthday the actual day is September 3rd but deferred to October 3rd. In Prato, Tuscany, Italy, the first baking of the biscotti was done on September 3rd and then there was a delay while the cherry wooded barreled fortified wine from 3 years prior, Vin santo, was sent to Rome to be blessed by the Pope, and then on it’s return, the biscotti was baked a second time and it was officially eaten on October 3rd and consumed with the accompanying wine. Vin Santo means holy wine. The alternative word Cantoccini was not so popular and so the biscotti name took and is more commonly used today and is more in keeping with “baked twice” meaning. Being baked twice allowed them to store them for longer periods of time.
        Time to shell the pistachio. I am willing to try dates in my biscotti version and report back, all in the name of science. But please be patient. I am on a go slow at the moment.

      • So you have woken a craving for biscotti here in NZ! Grrr I may need to make some this weekend. I picked up some pistachios – they look gorgeous in biscotti. Watch this space nom nom

      • Have you made your batch yet? Or are still dreaming about it. I am still at the thought stage. And I was raking leaves this afternoon, very briefly. So a sweet reward for outdoor exercise is in store for later.

      • You are ahead of me. I have pistachio in their shells and I knew that it would be a task to be done before making the biscotti so I deferred the task to another day.

Share your thoughts

