Spinach Pakoras


Pakora is an Indian fried snack or appetiser. They are called Bahji in southern parts of India. Onion Bahji are quite common on Indian takeaway menus in the UK, Australia and New Zealand. Sliced potatoes, eggplant and cauliflower are also common vegetables used.

Spinach pakoras are on my Wish List to make, please check out the source of the recipe at sublime palate.ย  I think my pakoras turned out more free form than spherical.

I know that chat masala is optional but if you can find it at your local Indian market then buy it. You won’t regret it. It really adds to the flavours. I had some chat masala in my cupboard that I had bought earlier and hadn’t used yet.

Spinach Pakoras
Ingredients:
3/4 c chickpea flour*
1/2 t baking powder
1/4 t turmeric
1/4 t chilli powder
pinch ofย  salt
1/8 t black pepper
6 T water
1 red onion, thinly sliced
1 t ginger, grated
1 clove of garlic, grated
1 green chilli, grated
5 stems of fresh coriander leaves, chopped
2 c spinach, finely chopped
1 T mustard oil (for the batter)
Regular oil for deep frying
chat masala for garnish (optional)

*Chickpea flour = Gram flour = Garbanzo flour = Besan

Turn your deep fryer onto 180C.
Sift the chick pea flour and baking powder into a bowl.
Add all the other ingredients except the regular oil and the chat masala.
Mix well.

Chickpea flour is quite sticky to work with, makes you feel like you have added an egg when you haven’t.ย  I should have let it sit for 15 minutes but I rushed ahead without reading the recipe. Now I know. If I had finely chopped the spinach then the balls would have been more tightly formed.
When frying keep small children and animals well out of harm’s way.
Using your hands press the mixture to form small balls and drop gently into the preheated oil. Be careful of oil splashes.

Turn the pakoras over when they have reached a nice colour.
Place your pakoras on a paper towel to drain excess oil.

Sprinkle with chat masala before serving. I had mine with rice. A coriander and mint chutney is recommended by sublime palate to accompany the pakoras.
Thank you sublime palate for the inspiration.

8 thoughts on “Spinach Pakoras

  1. Thank you for trying out my recipe! I agree sprinkling the chat masala really makes a difference and adds that zing to the pakoras:) I didn’t have it that day so I didn’t sprinkle it. That’s how I had it in Maithan ๐Ÿ™‚

    • I am still not quite sure if I made the same recipe! Mine looked so different from yours!!! Chopping the spinach finer perhaps?
      I am a huge fan of chat masala now. I get the impression that it is like garam masala in that everyone has their own recipe so they are never the same.

Share your thoughts

