Menu Planning Quiz

My work in progress:  You know when you plan something, you jot down the idea and then you sit and think about it some more, leave it, go and do something else, then you come back and tweak it, just a little more and think on it some more and just add a touch more change, and then you have tweaked it so much you get sick of it and then forget about it. You put it away and you move onto something else, the next project.
Well my menu planning is kind of like this. I started it and it has evolved into an eight week cycle, plus the added dimension of the seasonal week, so 12 weeks in total, in theory. There is also a separate general list divided into the different meal categories. And thus far, unfinished and horribly turning into a monster, a complicated monster.
How realistic is it? I don’t know yet. Probably not realistic at all. And it doesn’t take into consideration portions and leftovers. It’s not done yet but it’s a start.

Do you know what food you are going to buy at the shops before you have even left the house?
Do you check to see what you have left before buying their replacements?
What do you do?  What is your routine?
What would you answer to the following questions about your meal planning?

QUIZ TIME
Select which ever answer(s) is/are suitable.

1. I usually plan my meals…
A. a week ahead of time
B. the night before
C. when I open the fridge when I’m hungry
D. never, I usually just get takeaways or eat out
E. never, that’s the chef’s role, not mine

2. Before I go food shopping I…
A. Check to see what I have in stock in the pantry, fridge and freezer and write down a list and keep to it
B.  Check to see what I have in stock in the pantry, fridge and freezer and write down a list and mostly keep to it
C.  Check the cupboards and fridge and take a mental note of what I have and buy what ever is on special
D. Bring my wallet
E. Don’t be stupid it’s not my role.

3. When I go food shopping I …
(you may select one or more answers)
A. make sure I have eaten something before I go
B. always feel hungry and try to finish as soon as possible
C. have a snack while I am shopping
D. have a drink while I am shopping
E. have already told you, it’s not my role, I don’t do the shopping

4. When I see something in the fridge or pantry that has gone past its used by date I…
A.  Never have anything that expires past its due date
B.  Throw it away immediately
C.  Do the visual test and the sniff test and if it seems okay consume as normal.
D.  Scrape off the mould, and make it into a curry, and hope for the best
E.  What, there’s an expiry date on food?

HOW DID YOU SCORE?
Answers in an ideal world (All As):
1. A 2. A 3. A 4. A
Well done you’re PERFECT! Why did you read this far? You needn’t have bothered. No that was unkind. You may do the washing up tonight. Thank you. You are appreciated.

Answers in an almost ideal world (Mainly Bs):
1. B 2. B 3. B 4. B
Well done you’re TRYING TOO HARD. Lighten up and enjoy yourself.

Answers in a real world (Mainly Cs):
1. C 2. C 3. B, C, D 4. C
Well done you’re AVERAGE! You know what is the right thing to do, but you can’t be bothered to follow the rules all the time.

Answers in a warp somewhere between reality and fantasy (Mainly Ds):
1. D 2. D 3. D 4. D
Well done you’re WORRY FREE! You don’t bother with budgeting or mould and coast along without a care in the world. What’s your secret?

Answers in fantasy land (Mainly Es):
1. E 2. E 3. E 4. E
Well done you’re WELL LOOKED AFTER but couldn’t manage to boil an egg or make a cup of tea without instructions, but don’t worry we haven’t given up hope on you just yet.

Things to consider BEFORE food shopping:

  • the shopping list
  • the freezer check
  • the fridge check
  •  menu planning
  • hunger
14 thoughts on “Menu Planning Quiz

      • Ahh, in the middle of life! That’s what it’s all about! Winging it, that’s why God made chickens, and estimates, well mathematics began with women wagering bets around the camp fire on how long it would take their men to hunt for food. Now they just call it gambling.

    • Being middle of the road means you are perfectly safe from oncoming dangers and aware of water covered pot holes behind you as you cross the path of life. There is nothing ordinary about being average. 🙂

  1. Brilliant, it made me laugh. Unsurprisingly I’m average at yet another thing! But weirdly consoled by the fact that behind me are still 2 groups of people less organised and still managing to survive… Ta.

Share your thoughts

