Chickpea Snack Disaster


I am on a mission to find the perfect snacks.
Criteria: healthy and low calories

TRIAL ONE

Chickpeas:
Full of fibre.
Good source of protein and folate (Vitamin B9).
Contains calcium, iron, potassium, magnesium and phosphorous.
Low in fat.

Simple Roasted Chickpea Snack
This is how it should be done!
Ingredients:

  • 2 tablespoons olive oil
  • 1 tablespoon ground cumin
  • 1 teaspoon garlic powder
  • 1/2 teaspoon chili powder
  • 1 pinch sea salt
  • 1 pinch ground black pepper
  • 1 dash crushed red pepper
  • dry chickpeas, enough to fill a single layer of a tray
  1. Soak the chickpeas overnight in enough water for the beans to absorb double the amount.
  2. Boil the chickpeas on low for 2 hours. Drain.
  3. Preheat an oven to 300 F (150C).
  4. Roast in the preheated oven, stirring occasionally, until nicely browned and slightly crispy, about 20 minutes.
  5. Add the oil. Mix well. Cook for a further 20 minutes.
  6. Whisk cumin, garlic powder, chili powder, sea salt, black pepper, and red pepper together in a small bowl; add the chickpeas and toss to coat.

The recipe at All recipes, found at the link below, uses tinned/canned chickpeas. I used dry chickpeas. Dry chickpeas are much cheaper to use than the tinned ones. I bought them from my local Indian supermarket and I soaked them in water overnight.  They soaked up double the water.  I drained them.There is a slight but an important difference in using the dry or tinned chickpeas. Wait for it.  Here comes my mistake….  I didn’t cook them.  Pick yourself off the floor and dry your eyes.  How easy is it to spot the amateur health nut?  Excuse the pun. Really. Such a basic mistake but one that I will not forget. I didn’t cook them.  Now you know why the recipe has instruction 2 in BOLD letters.  Please learn from my mistake.  🙂
I did eat a few of the chickpeas and they were crunchy.  Very crunchy.

To look at the photos you would have thought they were fine.
Photographs do not always convey reality!

Now seriously can I salvage them by cooking them or is it really too late? Are they just ready for the compost bin?

I will be attempting this recipe again.  Hopefully next time will be a success story.

Disclaimer: No teeth were broken in the making of the chickpea snack.
All recipes chickpea snack

8 thoughts on “Chickpea Snack Disaster

    • I have not given up but my pride was hurt. By a pea for God’s sake! I have a container full of dried ones ready to be cooked! But I have them in solitary confinement for the duration of “pride healing”. However long that takes. Rather unfair I know but I made the rules. And as we all know rules are made to be broken. I will do a rerun on these but biscotti takes first priority.

  1. When we cook we never fail, we are just finding new ways to excite our pallets. Experimentation is essential and not all experiments end as expected but boy do we learn from the results. I made a Brunswick stew once for my wife and almost killed her with the cayenne pepper. I thought in my experiment that more was better, I learned from this experiment and latter perfected the dish.

    • That brings into perspective “killed with kindness!”
      My disaster hasn’t stopped me. And sweetly DH said to me last night that they weren’t a disaster. It’s not just me who gets to sample the fruits of my labour. And as a last resort the birds will get it. But they won’t like the pepper. Then it’s up to the hedgehogs, or possums or stray dogs…

Share your thoughts

