Peanut Brownies


Ingredients:

125g butter
1 c raw sugar
1 egg, free range
1 1/2 c wholemeal flour
1 t baking powder
pinch of salt
1 T cocoa powder
1 c peanuts

Preheat the oven to 180C/ 350F.
Cream the butter and the sugar until light and fluffy.
Add the egg and beat well.
Sift the cocoa and baking powder.
Add the dry ingredients.
Mix well.
Add peanuts.
Mix well.  You need a good strong arm to stir this mixture.

Roll tablespoonfuls of mixture into balls.
Place on a tray lined with baking paper.

Flatten with a wet fork.

Bake at 180C/ 350F for 15 minutes or until cooked.

Transfer the biscuits to a rack to cool.

Makes 24

After writing this out I realised that I made this without any salt!  I should read slower and pay attention.  They turned out really well. The best ever. I wonder if it has to do with less humidity in the air or it’s just me!  Or the fact that I doubled the recipe.  Freeze half the cooked biscuits and bring them out when you need.
I use a fan bake electric oven and it took 14 minutes for mine to be done. I like them crunchy.
Best eaten still warm but you knew that.
Enjoy!

Source:
Edmond’s Cookery Book, p59, Peanut Brownies
I use wholemeal flour instead of plain flour and raw sugar instead of white granulated sugar.

4 thoughts on “Peanut Brownies

Share your thoughts

