Decent Chicken Coriander Daikon Noodles


We got to the vegetable shop where we normally shop half an hour before closing time. Shock.  All the stock is being removed and being taken out to the cooler.  My dinner plans are thrown into disarray.  I have to ask for what I want and I don’t want to ask for too much as I know it is a hassle.  Bok choi goes out the window, daikon into focus. Daikon is at home. Check. Carrots are in as juice is on my mind. Apples are in. Coriander in. Everything else is out.  Come back tomorrow.  I understand why everything is so fresh now, produce is looked after.  I know how time consuming this is.  My very first part time job after school was in a supermarket, I worked the fresh produce area on weekends.  I learnt a lot. Forgot a lot too. Dinner plans altered but under control.

Ramen noodles with chicken and coriander

Ingredients:
1 piece of chicken roughly chopped and pulled apart
1/2 bunch of coriander
2t chicken stock
1t garlic paste
1t ginger paste
1t chili, chopped fresh or bottled
2 spring onions, chopped
1 carrot, chopped into strips
10cm daikon (Chinese radish), chopped into strips
2 eggs, free range, boiled
2 portions ramen noodles
2 bowls
3 pots of boiling water (1 for eggs, 1 for noodles and 1 measured for ingredients)

Boil the eggs separately until soft boiled. Peel. This can be done ahead of time, even the night before.
Get bowls that you want to serve the  noodles in and pour boiling water into the bowls.
Pour the bowlful into a pot twice. Two people, two portions.
This is the pot for the ingredients.
Add all the ingredients except the noodles, coriander and the eggs. Cook for 5-6 minutes until the chicken is cooked.
In another separate pot add boiled water from a jug. This is for the noodles.
Roughly chop the coriander and place on a plate.
The noodles take 3 minutes so prepare everything else first before adding the noodles to the boiling water.
Add the noodles first to the final bowl, then the egg, sliced in half or whole and finally the rest of the ingredients. Sprinkle with coriander for garnish and colour.
Enjoy!

4 thoughts on “Decent Chicken Coriander Daikon Noodles

  1. Do you find that daikon is sometimes a little stinky? I picked one up at the grocery store and it stunk up my kitchen! I really like it on banh mi, etc., but whenever I try to cook with it at home I find it too pungent. I wasn’t sure if that was normal or not, but my husband told me he wouldn’t eat it b/c of the smell, so that was the end of that.

    • You can chop it up into strips, then soak it in water in the fridge for half an hour or so, and that will lose the smell, that helps when you eat it raw in a salad. Try that and see if he’ll eat it. I love it in summer. Some daikon are hotter/stronger than others though. Small ones tend to be hotter. These are used for soba noodles. And the firmer the better. The smell doesn’t bother me. I don’t notice it.
      Had to look up what banh mi was! Vietnamese sandwich. I hadn’t thought of eating daikon on bread.

Share your thoughts

