Parmesan Cheese Straws with Bacon

Ingredients:
75g butter
1c wholemeal flour
2 t baking powder
1 egg, free range
1/4 t cayenne pepper
1/2 c Parmesan cheese, granulated
1 T Dijon mustard
bacon, finely cut (optional)

  • Preheat the oven to 180C/ 360F.
  • Add wholemeal flour, baking powder and cayenne pepper to a bowl.
  • Rub in the butter until the mixture resembles breadcrumbs.
  • Stir in the Parmesan cheese.
  • Lightly beat the egg and mustard with a fork in a separate bowl.
  • Add all the ingredients.
  • Stir until the mixture forms a stiff, pliable dough.
  • On a lightly floured board roll out dough to 5mm thickness.
  • Cut into fingers 1 x 5 cm.
  • Place on a baking tray lined with baking paper.
  • Stab each finger twice with a fork.
  • Bake for 8-10 minutes until pale golden.
  • Transfer to a cooling rack.
  • Store in an airtight container.

Makes about 30.

The basis for the recipe is from the Edmond’s Cookery Book, 64th edition, p198.
I changed the flour from plain to wholemeal and used Dijon mustard instead of dry mustard. I increased the cayenne pepper but in reality I probably used about 1/2 teaspoon. I like a bit of heat. I also used Parmesan cheese instead of grated tasty cheese, and I added bacon as I had some in the fridge spare.

I tend to cheat a little in recipes when it comes to using butter.  Butter straight from the fridge is so hard so I usually use the microwave to soften it up a little.  But for this recipe I decided to do it properly and I rubbed the cold butter into the flour and baking powder.  Sure it took a bit more time and it required a bit of hard work but the results made it all worth it.  It made me think about making my own bread.  Irish soda bread to start with, I think and then go and get some yeast for the other breads.  Another day.

Enjoy!

4 thoughts on “Parmesan Cheese Straws with Bacon

  1. OH. MY. GOSH!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! THIS LOOKS SUPER SUPER DUPER AMAZING! *drools all over the floor………………………………………………………………keeps drooling* i……..love……..bacon!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! this has GOT TO be my favorite one so far. *falls over*

Share your thoughts

